God Rest Ye Merry, Gentlemen

This is the final installment in a series of posts leading up to Christmas 2016.  There will be four posts each with my arrangement of a well known Christmas carol.  I’m not going to explain anything about how I’ve made it my own or why I’ve done what I’ve done, but I hope you will listen to them and enjoy them.  I will give you the lyrics for each carol in case you’re interested though!

God Rest Ye Merry, Gentlemen

God rest ye merry, gentlemen, let nothing you dismay,
For  Jesus Christ our saviour was born on Christmas Day,
To save us all from Satan’s pow’r when we were gone astray:
Refrain: O tidings of comfort and joy, comfort and joy,
O tidings of comfort and joy.

In Bethlehem in Jewry, this blessed babe was born,
And laid within a manger, upon this blessed morn;
At which his mother Mary did nothing take in scorn:
Refrain

From God, our heav’nly Father, a blessed angel came,
And unto certain shepherds brought tidings of the same,
How that in Bethlehem was born the Son of God by name:
Refrain

‘Fear not,’ then said the angel, ‘let nothing you affright,
This day is born a Saviour, of virtue, pow’r and might;
By him the world is overcome and Satan put to flight’:
Refrain

The shepherds at those tidings rejoiced much in mind,
And left their flocks a-feeding, in tempest, storm and wind,
And went to Bethlehem straightway this blessed babe to find:
Refrain

But when to Bethlehem they came where at this infant lay,
They found him in a manger, where oxen feed on hay;
his mother Mary kneeling, unto the Lord did pray:
Refrain

Now to the Lord sing praises, all you within place,
And with true love and fellowship each other now embrace;
This holy tide of Christmas all others doth deface:
Refrain

Original text and music are traditional English.

I hope you’ve enjoyed my musical series here and I hope you have a wonderful Christmas and I’ll see you in January with my next musical adventure!

One thought on “God Rest Ye Merry, Gentlemen

Leave a Reply

