Fluiditea

The post for today is very different from the pieces I’ve been telling you about in my last few posts.  The recording is called Fluiditea and it is a set of four tunes, each 32 bars long.  It features a traditional tune and three tunes that I composed for one of the ceilidh bands I play in – each piece characterises a band member perfectly!

Style

As its for a ceilidh, its light and bouncy.  Its reel set which means it’ll be played mostly for dances that are walked/marched.  Its in the style of an English reel which means its slower than say ones from Ireland or Scottish – although it definitely doesn’t feel slower when playing them!

The Tunes

1. Earl Grey

This is the traditional tune of set.  This is one of my favourite folk tunes.  I find this tune just lends itself to bouncing along happily yet is still very straight forward.  Elements of this tune were used as the inspiration for the other tunes – although it can be hard to work out which parts!

2. King’s Oolong

This tune is sensible yet bouncy – like the band member who’s found delight in this variety of tea (personally I’ve not had any, but I’ll let you know what I think if I do).  A straight forward tune with a mixture of minor and major tonality which helps give it a royal feel!

3. Mint Tea

This is by far my favourite tea and also the favourite of a fellow band member.  The best description of this tune is: “it’s complicated.”  I don’t think I can beat that for a description of it.  Its tonality is unsure whether its major or minor, and can’t decide what key it wants to be in for more than a few bars!  This is almost certainly the hardest tune of the set!

4. Coffee and Custard

The title of this tune is a longstanding joke that this member will drink anything you give him so long as its warm, wet and looks a little like tea.  This is an incredibly happy and bouncy tune – its great fun to play and makes a wonderfully happy end to the set!

The Recording

I recorded this set (multitrack style!) on my trusty, full-toned Mollenhauer recorder – my favourite recorder.  It has a wide bore (rather than the modern tapering style) and a different mouthpiece to most recorders and it suits my playing style perfectly – my recorder and I get on very well!  The chord instrument is my lovely Stephanelli accordion – she’s a beautiful instrument that I hired for a while when I decided to teach myself accordion and finally brought her because I couldn’t bear to part with her!

I hope you enjoy it!

2 thoughts on “Fluiditea

Leave a Reply

